Location > Home


Welcome to nzclassicboats.com   -the official site for the
NZ Antique & Classic Boat Show, held at Lake Rotoiti, South Island. 
The dates for the next show are Sat 7th and Sun 8th March, 2015. The 2015 Registration form is available now on the Registration page.

The 15th NZ Antique & Classic Boat Show was held at Lake Rotoiti(SI) on Sat 8th & Sun 9th of February, 2014.
Thanks to all the boat owners who brought their beautiful craft and colourful conversation to the lake.  Congratulations to 2014 Jens Hansen Cup winner,  "Willow".  The full 2014 show results are posted below.
Photos by Alan Doak from the 2014 event are
available here for viewing and non-commercial use.  http://www.flickr.com/photos/skinnylaveal/sets/72157640847214233/
Video footage shot and edited by Dan Kendrick is available here... http://youtu.be/IT4lcsvtubk


New Zealand Antique and Classic Boat Show 2014 Results

NZ  Antique & Classic Boat Show

Lake Rotoiti, Nelson Lakes National Park

February 8 & 9 2014

Media release – results

It’s was a victory for blokeish escapism at this year’s NZ  Antique & Classic Boat Show, held at Lake Rotoiti in the
Nelson Lakes National Park over the weekend of February 8 & 9 2014.

Over 120 clinkers, steam launches, classic motorboats and sailing dinghies enjoyed two days of boating and
chatting about boats, with the Jens Hansen trophy for best vessel overall going to the Christchurch-owned
shallow-beam skiff, Willow.

Judges’ spokesman John Harris said this 16’ 7’’ plywood skiff stood out as unique.

“The owner, Darryl Maffey, bought her from an elderly man last year and has done her up as a ‘blokes boat’,
finished simply in grey and white with a red trim,” he said, “Willow is a boat that says ‘I can escape in this and
 go fishing or do a bit of duck-shooting with my mates or with my kids’, it’s a male-bonding kind of boat.”

Harris said the boat show, now in its 16th year, draws a consistently high standard of entrants and is a
great motivator for people to restore old craft or build new boats on traditional designs.

Boat show organiser Pete Rainey said the sunny weather drew good crowds both days, and though the
southerly prevented much on-water activity on Sunday there was good sailing by mid-afternoon.

Rainey said holding the show a month earlier than usual was popular with visitors, with some enjoying a day out at
the lake after attending the Marlborough Wine and Food Festival. However he said the earlier time was more
cluttered with events, which would be taken into account when deciding the date for next year’s show.

The award winning boats were:

Best New Craft: Boat 67 (unnamed), a 13’ 8” ultra-light ply dinghy with total design and build by the owners, John
and Dianne Macbeth, Todd Valley, Nelson.

Best Restoration: Andiamo, a 18’ 6” power boat built in 1949 and based at Lake Rotoiti (NI) over 60 years ago,
where it was one of the fastest boats on the lake, owned by Mary Fuller of Tauranga.

Best rowed craft: Inverie, a 12’ 1947 traditional clinker dinghy, owned by the Picton Clinker & Classic Boat Club.

CWF Hamilton trophy for best jet propelled boat: Potential, a 4.5m Hamilton jet 30XL, built in 1964 and now owned
by Geoff  and Shelley Neutze of Christchurch.

Johnson Family Trophy for the best sail powered craft: Julie, a 14’ X-class built in 1950, owned by Guy Manning
of Nelson.

Mathieson/Jeffcott trophy for best motor powered craft: Matariki, a 5m launch built in 1965 and restored in 2014,
 owned by Marlene & Peter Crapper of Picton.

Best outboard motor boat: Miss Molly, a 13’ Clinker runabout built in 1963 and owned by Dick & Rita Hall of Picton.

Eventiac best themed display: Thunderbird, a 15’ 1972-73 jet boat, bought as a bare hull for $500 in 2006, returned
 to red and white colour scheme and relaunched in 2006; entry included music and costumes, owned by Edward
 Wicken of Christchurch.

Ron Culley trophy for best steam boat: Tecumseh, a 17’ 9” steam launch built in 2003 by Myron Givets, owned by
Tony Collins of North Otago.

People’s Choice: Vanquish, a 19’ powerboat, a new build by the owner over a period of seven years, in the style of
a 1930s-40s gentleman’s racer.  Owned by Dave Deavoll of Christchurch.

For further info,  contact Pete Rainey at pbrain@xtra.co.nz